Hammacher Schlemmer Reviews

Show reviews that mention
customer service service customer order item shipping return refund christmas money
Filter review
New Reviewer

Inflatable bed

I bought the twin inflatable bed last March. Just used it for a guest, and all went smoothly. BUT - do you think the manufacturers could have made the storage bag a little bit bigger? It is real hard trying to fold this thing and get it into the bag. The product is really nice, but why skimp on the bag??
View full review
ID
#1653761 Review #1653761 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Insufficient storage bag
Preferred solution
Just want to let you know about the product, could not get onto the review site for it.
New Reviewer

Lousy customer service, called 5 times never did resolve delivery problem

product I ordered shipped in two separate packages, never received the second package so product is worthless.
View full review
ID
#1651007 Review #1651007 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Loss
$625
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer

Need to learn how to pack

I bought a South African Savanna hat came crushed. The box is not tall enough about an inch would help. The other thing is a sticker was put on the outside brim of the hat it did not come off easy and had to use a cleaner to get the sticky off of it. I fixed the had you need to fix the maker and the sender. I love the hat K. Bishop
View full review
ID
#1640787 Review #1640787 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Hammacher Schlemmer Shipping Service
Pros
  • Good company
Cons
  • Bad packing
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$1
Preferred solution
fix you packing and don't put stickers on products
New Reviewer

Shipping

Ordered on May 25th. No conformation on status. Found out it was on back order. Called three times. No one seems to know what's going on or when it will be shipped. As of July 16 no package. No communication. Poor service.
View full review
ID
#1589079 Review #1589079 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Fact that they never contacted me
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Portable lounge chairs

Hammacher Schlemmer - Portable lounge chairs
Hammacher Schlemmer - Portable lounge chairs
After 3 month of waiting they send me the gravity cool mesh lounge chair and it was a defect. I don’t understand why they send me 2 defective chair that has uneven mesh and fabric. And charge me 3 month in advance before I get the product. I will have field day in social media if I don’t get my money back.
View full review
ID
#1526657 Review #1526657 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Hammacher Schlemmer Chair
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
New Reviewer

Be Aware of Hammacher's Web Page Disclaimer

On March 21, 2019 I purchased running shoes for $157. 18 on my credit card. I returned them because the size was too small. On April 17, 2019 I received back on my credit card $128.10. My card was charged $10.95 for returning and $16.95 for shipping for a total of $28.10. I was told by their customer service supervisor, I should of read their policy on their web site before ordering. Before consider ordering from Hammacher's - do your due diligence and read their web site carefully to avoid a bad experience at your expense.
View full review
ID
#1524886 Review #1524886 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Hammacher Schlemmer Customer Care
Reason of review
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy
Loss
$28
Preferred solution
Full refund

Sad Product Still For Sale

Apparently the Hammacher Schlemmer catalogue website is not taking any more product reviews. I searched it thoroughly and could not find any “submit” box. I have learned one very important thing: Do Not purchase anything by way of the internet or even a supposedly reputable company’s website without having first read as many reviews of a prospective purchase as possible. I recently purchased the “World’s Smallest Automatic Umbrella”...it is NOT the smallest, by the way. But it IS the cheesiest, most over-priced and flimsy umbrella I’ve seen to date. It also had the name “Hammacher Schlemmer” printed along the edge of the umbrella fabric; this was very easy to overlook in the very tiny photo and I certainly didn’t want to advertise for them. It was to be a gift, sent to another address, but ended up at my address; fortunately, as I would’ve been extremely embarrassed to have given such a poor quality item as a gift to anyone. When I phoned customer service and asked to speak to their most senior representative, President or CEO, and asked for his/her name, I was told they couldn’t give it out and I was then transferred to a “manager”: Mr. Derek ? who declined to give his last name . ( if Derek was even a real name) I was given the same “bot-babble” response from Mr. Derek ? as the scripted “Merchant Response” in the customer reviews and I realized I was dealing with a company that doesn’t give a fig about its customers and will give only excuses, platitudes and insincere “apologies” whenever a disappointed customer complains. When I stated that I intended to return the item, and requested that HS’s customary (?) $10.95 return fee not be applied to my credit card, I was given yet another convoluted run-around. Since my call wasn’t related to damage or malfunction, it was simply because the product was a piece of junk, I was told I would be issued a special return label ( different from the one enclosed in the original box) and I would be “refunded” my original shipping/handling fee of $7 and change. We went round and round again and I finally decided to return the umbrella and want no further dealings with Hammacher Schlemmer...I won’ t be buying another thing from them.
View full review
1 comment
#1806831

After reading all these complaints, I am glad I don’t shop from this company.

ID
#1500079 Review #1500079 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Hammacher Schlemmer Worlds Smallest Rain Umbrella
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$35
New Reviewer
Well all the reviews not only on their website but in a google generated review state this was the best. A wee bit pricey for a nose hair trimmer plus $7.95 for shipping! Received the product and its defective. Wont even run. On top of that they just sold me a WAHL...
View full review
View full review
ID
#1461485 Review #1461485 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • False advertising
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$30
BUYER BEWARE! I purchased 2 monogrammed bathrobes via their on-line store but received UNMONOGRAMMED bathrobes instead. Despite having placed the order 7 days prior, when I called to have the error corrected, I was informed they no longer sold the bathrobes. I hung up...
View full review
View full review
ID
#1453416 Review #1453416 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Redmond, Washington

Deceptive advertising

I ordered a heating pad and the cost was 79.95+ tax and shipping. When it arrived, I realized it was a Sunbeam product ( that was never disclosed in the catalog). I googled this product and found it being sold on Amazon, Wal Mart, CVS and Walgreens for 49.95. HS has a $30.00 markup on this item. When I called customer service and asked why it wasn’t advertised properly, she claimed that they only give “the description” of the products. Needless to say, I ordered it from Amazon with free shipping. I asked HS to not charge the return shipping but they did deduct it from my credited amount. I will never purchase anything from them again.
View full review
ID
#1446444 Review #1446444 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
West Palm Beach, Florida
Product
Sunbeam Heating Pad
Reason of review
Pricing issue

Poor quality for an overpriced piece of plastic

Ordered tbe illumiglobe for my daugter for christmas. Original price 79.99. Not worth 20 bucks to begin with.... all in with exchange, delivery, and customs at the border 120.00 piece of plastic. Very lack lustre light show at best. *** thing is, i cant spend the money to return it. Would DEFININATLY not recommend this product. And if you are a canadian looking to order, be prepared to pay through the nose. Disappointing that a company of that size does not have a canadian distribution system
View full review
ID
#1444924 Review #1444924 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Unreliable service

Ordered a profootbll team puzzler Dec 4, 2018. it is now Dec. 24 and have not received it. very disappointed...will not be ordering ANYTHING from your catalog again
View full review
1 comment
#1622747

I am very concerned because I ordered a $299 product--and paid $80 for "one day shipping." I paid for it on December 29, 2018. It's now January 2, and I expected to RECEIVE IT today--according to the website, it STILL hasn't even been SHIPPED!

I have been on hold for a LONGGG time now with customer service, and no one is even ANSWERING! I thought this was a legitimate company!!!

ID
#1432470 Review #1432470 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Service
Hammacher Schlemmer Shipping Service
Reason of review
Order processing issue
New Reviewer

Bad first impression

Ordered two items for Christmas presents. Never got a confirmation via email of the order except from my PayPal account. Odd since my email account was on file and verified. One item arrived as expected. Waited for the other- - - nothing forthcoming from Hammacher to say it was ordered and on the way. FINALLY I called to see what the order status was as I was afraid it would not arrive in time. With no confirmation number I had to rely on my name to find the order. Order was found and the agent told me it was back ordered and the confirmation would have told me this. EXCEPT - - I did not get one!!! Called a second time and cancelled. This company needs better management. I will not order from them again and this makes me sad as they have interesting products.
View full review
ID
#1426060 Review #1426060 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Marcos, California
Service
Hammacher Schlemmer Shipping Service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
New Reviewer
Ordered a customizable Christmas present on 11/23. Never received information on how to customize it. Called about customizing on 12/03 they said within 5 days of ordering I would receive a card on how to do it. Never received the card, on 12/10 I was on hold for over...
View full review
View full review
ID
#1421030 Review #1421030 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy
Loss
$250
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer
The Illumiglobe, which retails for $79.99, is described thus: "Only available from Hammacher Schlemmer, this is the cordless desktop lamp that illuminates in an ever-changing galaxy of moving, colored lights. The globe appears to contain the whole universe but is in...
View full review
View full review
ID
#1420015 Review #1420015 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$80
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution